Harry Potter

The Harry Potter film series comprises eight films based on Harry Potter,a series of seven youth novels written by the British author J.K. Rowling and starring the fictional magician of the same name. These are fantastic films, all based on the novels of the saga and all released in the decade between 2001 and 2011.1A film was made for each book in the saga except for the last book, whose film adaptation was made by two different films. The feature films were produced by the American studio Warner Bros., which partnered with David Heyman’s production company in order to transpose the novels to the big screen.

Posters of the Movies

In early 2001, Warner Bros. Pictures began making the films for the books. These films became very popular, and in less than a decade, the films achieved the highest gross in history, thus surpassing the James Bondfranchise. At first, the author hesitated about granting the rights to the films, but then I accept as long as the films were faithful to books, and the cast was British (there were only small exceptions).

To this day, all eight films have been released:

  1. Harry Potter and Chris Colombus’ Philosopher’s Stone. (2001)
  2. Harry Potter and Chris Colombus’s Secret Chamber. (2002)
  3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by Alfonso Cuarón. (2004)
  4. Harry Potter and Mike Newell’s Goblet of Fire. (2005)
  5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by David Yates. (2007)
  6. Harry Potter and the Prince of David Yates Mystery. (2009)
  7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 of David Yates. (2010)
  8. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 by David Yates (2011)

The last adaptation of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows was divided into two parts, the first released on November 2010 and the second in July 2011.

The last day the Harry Potter films were filmed was June 12, 2010. However, the cast members were called again to remake scenes from the epilogue.


Only Twelve Characters Participated in all the Films:

  • Harry Potter, played by Daniel Radcliffe, and the Saunders Trillings as the baby version of Harry.
  • Ron Weasley, played by Rupert Grint.
  • Hermione Granger, played by Emma Watson.
  • Albus Dumbledore, played by Richard Harris is the first two films and after his death, was replaced by Michael Gambon in the others, also Toby Regbo played a teenage Albus.
  • Rubeus Hagrid, played by Robbie Coltrane, also Martin Bayfield as Hagrid teen.
  • Severus Snape, played by Alan Rickman, Alec Hopkins as a teenager and Ben Clarke as a child.
  • Ginny Weasley, played by Bonnie Wright.
  • Neville Longbottom, played by Matthew Lewis.
  • Draco Malfoy, played by Tom Felton.
  • Fred Weasley, played by James Phelps.
  • George Weasley, played by Oliver Phelps.
  • Seamus Finnigan, played by Devon Murray.

In addition to the popularity of the films, there were several important details in their respective creations:

J. K. Rowling, the author of the books, gave her opinion on the story and the cast.

The fact that all the main characters were played by the same actors, with the exception of Albus Dumbledore whose first actor died after the second film

The completion of the series will mark one of the few movie sagas based on a large number of books without stern modifications in its history.

The series of books and films were released for ten years. The Philosopher’s Stone was published in the United Kingdom in 1997, while the last book was published in 2007. Similarly, the first film was released in 2001 and the second part of the last in 2011.

Scroll to top