Mad Max: Fury Road zooms ahead at London Critic’s Circle Awards; awards and review links here…

We are nearly in the home stretch now until the 2016 Academy Awards are upon us; you can tell as all the other film awards are piling in with their own announcements. Last night was the turn of the London Critic’s Circle to announce its winners at London’s May Fair Hotel.

George Miller’s Max Max: Fury Road won Best Film and Director of the Year  while Andrew Haigh’s 45 Years took the best British/Irish film of the year along with Best Actor and Actress of the Year for its stars Tom Courtenay and Charlotte Rampling, which makes up somewhat for their BAFTA snubs. Tom Hardy took the award for Best British/Irish Actor of the Year for Mad Max, Legend,The Revenant and London Road, with only one of those films involving the use of what might be called a ‘normal’ accent.

The full list of awards with links to Smoke Screen reviews are below:

Film of the Year: Max Max: Fury Road

British/Irish Film of the Year: 45 Years

Foreign Language Film of the Year: The Look of Silence

Documentary of the Year: Amy

Director of the Year: George Miller,  Mad Max: Fury Road

Actor of the Year: Tom Courtenay, 45 Years

Actress of the Year: Charlotte Rampling, 45 Years

Supporting Actor of the Year: Mark Rylance, Bridge of Spies

Supporting Actress of the Year: Kate Winslet, Steve Jobs

British/Irish Actor of the Year: Tom Hardy, LegendThe RevenantMad Max: Fury Road and London Road

British/Irish Actress of the Year: Saoirse Ronan, Brooklyn

Screenwriter of the Year: Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer, Spotlight

Philip French Award for Breakthrough British/Irish Filmmaker: John Maclean,Slow West

Young British/Irish Performer of the Year: Maisie Williams, The Falling

Technical Achievement Award: Ed Lachman, cinematography, Carol

British/Irish Short Film of the Year: Benjamin Cleary, Stutterer

Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film: Kenneth Branagh

Mad Max: Fury Road zooms ahead at London Critic’s Circle Awards; awards and review links here…
Scroll to top